Ambitions 2014 Update!

Can you believe it’s already August?

The last eight months have flown by for me. I had a lot of things to keep me busy; renos and getting the house ready for my friend to come visit me for two weeks.

Now that most of my house is in order (there’s still a rather large mess in the basement and one other room that I’m slowly picking at) and the renos are done, I have a bit of free time and I’ve been thinking about how to best fill that time.

Back in January I posted about New Years Resolutions and my ambitions for 2014. So, I thought I would take a look at that list and see what I could accomplish next.

Let’s see how I’m doing and what I could sink some time into!

Read three books more than I did in 2013 (So 7)
So far I’ve read 2.

Fully move into my place
Check! Finally moved in and sleeping there!

Have my best friend come visit
Check! We spent two great weeks together traveling around, seeing the sights, having a great time. I miss her so much!!

Finish the paintings I already have started
My art room is actually more of a storage room at the moment. So we’ll see how this one ends up

Even if I don’t reach the goal of 50,000 words, partake in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)
I still have some time before this starts.

Fix the broken fence myself
This didn’t happen. Dad ended up fixing the fence before I could get to it. But I did help paint it!

Write for the blog. Best case scenario – once a week. Worst case – once a month
Once a week isn’t happening and I did miss a Quote of the Month. So…. yeah, but I’ll just have to keep trying.

Work towards letting go of the resentment and anger I’m holding on to
I’m working on it. It’s a slow process, of course. I think I dealt with a good chunk of it earlier this year.

Meditate
I haven’t started doing this yet.

Work harder to become more fluent in Polish and Japanese
I haven’t sat down and studied anything like I really should and want to. However, I do try to speak Polish with mom and dad every day and I’m trying to make more complicated sentences.

Draw something, anything, every day
I did ok until about middle of February. I haven’t drawn anything in my sketch book since. Maybe it’s time change that.

Take up photography as a hobby
I still have not bought a camera. I really liked Kate’s while she was here so I may end up getting something like that.

Exercise – not to lose weight but to try to regain some of the mobility that I’ve lost over the last 2 years
Yeah… haven’t even bothered

Begin to learn guitar
I bought a cello instead… which I haven’t sat down to learn to play yet

Travel
I did a bit of traveling with Kate… does that count?

Completely clean out my wardrobe and get rid of the things I don’t want
Now that I have time I should do this really soon.

Work towards becoming less dependent on a calculator
I haven’t even looked in the general direction of my Maths book

Learn those Kpop dances I’ve always wanted to learn
No time!

Help mom organize her basement
I’m starting to think this isn’t going to happen this year. Maybe next year.

Learn how to make a proper cup of matcha correctly
I haven’t had any matcha since April

Experiment with using clay
My brother brought me some clay, but I haven’t played with it yet.

Take part in as many local festivals and events as possible
I’ve done a few! But I missed the one I wanted to do most because I had to work.

Put together a photo album
Something I haven’t even thought about so far this year.

Work on my patience with dad
I’m trying! When he makes me angry, I try hard not to start fighting with him.

Move family videos to DVD
Again, another thing I haven’t even thought about since I made this list.

Try to swear less (haha, yeah, right)
I’m getting a little bit better, I think. Because I shouldn’t swear at work I’ve been using other words there (like Holy Hanna) and I’ve started to use them at home too.

Leave a Reply

