Quote of the Month – March 2014

So I raise a morphine toast to you. And, should you remember that it’s the anniversary of my birth, remember that you were loved by me and you made my life a happy one. And there’s no tragedy in that.

This month I chose a quote from a movie that means a lot to me.

Third Star is a wonderful movie about James, a terminally ill young man and the final hiking trip he and his friends take to their favourite beach, Barafundle Bay.  It’s a moving story about friendship, love, death and what it means to be alive.

The first time I watched the film was in February of 2012. I had just been diagnosed with an auto immune disease the month prior. During the 3 days I spent in the hospital I tried hard to stay positive. I planned all of these things I was going to do after I was released; all these things to stay positive and enjoy life, to take it by the horns.

That all changed when I got home.

I was exhausted – going to the kitchen for something to drink or going to the bathroom was so tiring I would need a nap. Cooking was almost out of the question. Everything seemed too hard to do and pointless. I started to wonder what my quality of life was going to be like, about all the things I wouldn’t be able to do, all the things I would miss out on. I was depressed.

Then I found Third Star.

The conversations James has with his friends during that final hiking trip really spoke to me. I could see a part of myself in each of the characters and each one said the things I was feeling or thinking. And, of course, I related the most to James who’s so angry to be dying at such a young age. He’s so angry at the way he sees his friends wasting their lives. He talks of all the things he had planned to do when he thought he had the time and the fact that he’ll never be able to do them now.

The film shook me out of my depression. I stopped feeling sorry for myself and my resolve to stay positive returned. I started appreciating the little things in life. I started making an effort to achieve the things I wanted in life.

The quote itself creates this feeling within me that makes me want to make the most of life. It reminds me to enjoy the life that I do have, and the people that are in it, no matter the problems that may arise and that the death of a life well lived isn’t a tragedy. It makes me want to make sure the people around me know how much they mean to me. Like every good quote should, it motivates me and keeps me going whenever I feel like everything is pointless and like I should just give up.

If you or someone you know is dealing with chronic or terminal illness, or if you or someone you know is fighting with depression, watch Third Star. I’m not saying it’s a miracle cure, but maybe it will help you the way it’s helped me.

Leave a Reply

