All Your Lane Are Belong to Us

My favourite place to think is in the shower.

I, like many others, shower on a regular basis and the routine is so engrained in my brain that I don’t have to think about doing each individual step. My brain is free to think without any distractions.  It’s wonderful.

I spent some time a little while back researching how to generate traffic to your blog and, somewhere in all the pages and pages of things I read, someone suggested finding the “lane” you want your blog to be in and then staying in your “lane”.

I thought about that a lot in the shower today. What is my blog about? What do I want to write about? What lane am I in?

The original idea I had for this blog was a place to write about living with chronic illness and the ways to stay positive. I wanted to write about really living life, not just muddling through, but really experiencing it, living it to the fullest, and appreciating it. However, there are so many things I want to write about, I wonder if those topics are consistent with my general idea, or would they be considered “changing lanes”?

Then I thought; do I really have to pick a lane? There are so many things I want to write about, why restrict myself to one idea?  When driving, there are reasons to change lanes all the time. If all lanes are on road ways and all roads lead to Rome… all topics are under the umbrella of Life, right?

Well, it can be argued either way. I’m sure building an audience around an idea or specific topic is a great way to generate traffic, especially if you’re trying to live off of blogging. But this is my blog and currently I’m not trying to make any money by writing here. This is just for fun. Maybe writing about apples one day and oranges the next will confuse some people. Maybe my subscriber-ship will continue to slowly creep along, and that’s okay with me. This isn’t a race to see who can get the most subscribers, the fastest.

Maybe eventually I will find a lane I am most comfortable in and stick to it.

Then again… maybe not.    c:

2 thoughts on “All Your Lane Are Belong to Us

Leave a Reply

